COE Mail Migration FAQs

From COEHELP

Jump to: navigation, search

All COE email accounts were migrated to a new server on Tuesday, July 24, 2012.

If you use the COE system to read mail, please see the information below.
If you forward your mail out of the COE system, you don't need to do anything.

Contents

What to do after the migration

Make the following configuration changes on ALL your PCs, laptops, and mobile devices that check your COE email.
If you use two mail programs on the same PC (say, Outlook and Thunderbird), be sure to reconfigure both programs.

  • Set your incoming mail server to mail.coe.neu.edu (not imap.coe.neu.edu or pop.coe.neu.edu).
  • Set your IMAP path prefix is to a blank string (not "mail")
  • Do not change your outgoing mail (SMTP) server. It should remain set to "smtp.coe.neu.edu".

The IMAP path prefix is usually listed under "Advanced" somewhere in your mail preferences.
See this page for general help.
See this page for walkthroughs for some popular mail software and mobile devices.

What if I forward my COE mail to another account?

If you forward your mail out of the COE system to another account, you don't need to do anything at all. Your forwarding will remain unchanged.

What about WebMail?

COE WebMail is still available at https://www.coe.neu.edu/webmail.
The reconfiguration has been taken care of for you by the Computer Center staff.
If you only use WebMail, you don't have to do any reconfiguring.

Help and FAQs

I haven't received any new messages since the migration!

You are probably still looking at the old mail server.

  • Set your incoming mail server to mail.coe.neu.edu (not imap.coe.neu.edu or pop.coe.neu.edu).
  • Be sure your IMAP path prefix is set to a blank string (not "mail")

Help! I can't see any of my mail!

Your IMAP path prefix may be incorrect.

  • Be sure your IMAP path prefix is set to a blank string (not "mail")
  • Set your incoming mail server to mail.coe.neu.edu (not imap.coe.neu.edu or pop.coe.neu.edu).

You may need to re-subscribe to your mail folders.

  • Some mail clients use "subscriptions" to govern which mail folders you can see and which are hidden.
  • if your IMAP path prefix is correct, but all you folders are hidden, try subscribing to your folders.

What are those new folders with names like 1-Sent and 1-Drafts?

Before the migration, many users had some mail clients or devices that did not have their IMAP path prefix set to "mail".
Those devices created mailboxes in the root of the user's home directory, rather than in the user's ~/mail subdirectory.

On the new system, all your mail folders are in the same location, outside your home directory.
Your mail folders from your ~mail subdirectory have been moved into the new system without name changes.
Any mail you had outside ~mail has also been moved; these outside folders were given a name prefixed with "1-" to avoid naming conflicts.

What is the Group_Mailboxes folder?

Our new mail server supports group-shared mailboxes. If your workgroup needs to share a mailbox, we can create one for you in the Group_Mailboxes folder.

Group mailboxes are visible only to people who have permission to see them. Access control lists govern who can see the shared mailbox, who can delete messages from it, who can create sub-mailboxes inside it, and many other details. The group mailbox resides outside of the personal mailbox of any of the group members. We can set up an email address to deliver mail to the group mailbox.

Please speak to a member of the computer staff if you would like a shared mailbox for your group.

What happened to the messages in my Trash folder?

The contents of folders named Trash, Deleted Messages, Spam, Junk, etc. were not migrated for the obvious reasons.
If you really need a message from your old Trash, you can connect to the old mail server and get it. Go to COE WebMail and choose "Old COE".

DON'T DELETE THIS MESSAGE -- FOLDER INTERNAL DATA

Do you see a message with the subject "DON'T DELETE THIS MESSAGE -- FOLDER INTERNAL DATA" in some of your mailboxes?
Good news -- you can delete that message! It was used by the old mail system; the new system doesn't need it.

Personal tools