Zoom Security

From COEHELP

Jump to: navigation, search

The following are some actions that you can take to secure a Zoom meeting.

Require authentication

Schedule a meeting requiring authentication:

  • Start Zoom
  • Click the Schedule button.
  • Open the Advanced Options at the bottom-left.
  • Enable the "Only Authenticated Users can Join" option at the bottom.
  • Be sure to click Schedule to schedule your meeting.


Result: Your meeting is scheduled, and your participants must be logged in to Zoom in order to attend.


Require a password to enter the room that you communicate only to attendees. This option is set during meeting scheduling.

  • Start Zoom
  • Click the Schedule button.
  • Under Meeting Options select Require meeting password
  • Specify a strong password
  • Be sure to click Schedule to save your settings and schedule your meeting.


Result: Only users who have the password will be able to join your meeting. Be sure to let your participants know the password far enough in advance of the meeting they will be able to attend. Enable the Waiting Room Feature The Waiting Room lets the host to control which participants join the meeting. Attendees stay in the virtual waiting room until the host admits them to the room. Undesired attendees can be left in the waiting room indefinitely.


It can be difficult to determine who participants are if they join as a guest, call in, or have an unexpected Zoom account name.

  • Start Zoom
  • Click the Schedule button.
  • Open the Advanced Options at the bottom-left.
  • Enable the "Waiting Room" option at the bottom.
  • Be sure to click Schedule to schedule your meeting.


Result: Your meeting is scheduled, and your participants will have to wait to be allowed into the meeting by the host. For instructions on using host controls for waiting rooms, see Using a Waiting Room with Zoom Rooms. Manage Features to Prevent Disruption Manage Screen Sharing Permission to Prevent "Zoom Bombing" Pranksters or a participant with fumble fingers may start screen sharing disrupting a zoom meeting. To prevent this, you can set it such that only the host can use screen sharing functionality in the meeting.


As host of an ongoing meeting:

  • Click on the arrow next to Share Screen and select Advanced Sharing Options....
  • In the "Advanced Sharing Options" window "Who Can Share?" section, select Only Host.
  • Close the window.


Result: Only the host of the meeting will be able to share their screen. Mute Participants To avoid having voices speak at inappropriate times, follow these steps once you have started the meeting:


Manage Participants

  • Select the Manage Participants button in the Zoom toolbar
  • At the bottom of the Participants window, select More
  • Choose Mute Participants on Entry
  • Deselect Allow Participants to Unmute Themselves
  • Encourage participants to use the Raise Hand feature to indicate when they would like to speak
  • You will see a raised hand next to the person’s name in the Participants window. Verbally call on them and manually unmute them


Disable Annotation If you have the Annotation feature enabled in your account settings, attendees can annotate on your shared screen. To check your settings:

  • Log in to Zoom
  • Choose Settings
  • Choose In-Meeting Basic
  • Scroll to Annotation. If this is set to enabled, participants can annotate on your screen.
  • If you wish, you may deactivate this feature while you are sharing your screen.


Share your screen

  • Click More in the Screen Share controls
  • Select Disable Participants Annotation
  • Remove a Disruptive Participant


When all else fails, the host can eject a disruptive participant from their meeting.

  • If the Participants panel is not visible, click “Manage Participants” at the bottom of the Zoom window.
  • Next to the participant you want to remove, click “More”.
  • From the list that appears, click “Remove”.


Result: The participant is ejected from the meeting.


Consider Locking the meeting to prevent the person from re-entering. Note that doing so will also prevent others from entering.

  • Select the Manage Participants button
  • In the Participants window go to the bottom and select More
  • Choose Lock Meeting


Personal tools